Oh No! Am I a Nerd??

Dear Violette,

Nerd… Me, just like anybody else will feel insulted if somebody ever dare to describe me with that word. So, is it reasonable for us to think that the word is an insult or take it as a compliment?

Nerd defined as:

nerd

/nərd/

Noun
  1. A foolish or contemptible person who lacks social skills or is boringly studious: “one of those nerds who never asked a girl to dance”.
  2. An intelligent, single-minded expert in a particular technical discipline or profession.
Synonyms
fool – booby – goof

So, this is the opening of my story. You may thought that I’m kinda a sociable student but the true fact I’m not really. So, I’m afraid that people will recognise me as a nerd, supported with the fact I’m a student of kinda a good class. I just want to ask for your opinion, do i have to just be whoever I am now or change my identity? Is it a good idea to accept the ‘nerd’ calling as a compliment or just burst my anger to those who call me ‘nerd’?

Help me, please. And also, if I want to get rid from the nerd calling, do I have to stop revise or rarely complete the homeworks?

Leave a Reply

